Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee’s charge is to identify and develop volunteer leadership to meet the needs of the Society’s vision, strategies, and programs, recommending Board slates and committee appointments to the Board for approval. The committee creates the annual election slate for Board position openings to support ASHG identified needs and goals. Identifies and recommends (to the President) members to serve on committees, enabling committees to execute Board-approved goals and foster a pipeline of potential society leaders. In all activities, seeks to ensure diversity, in all its forms, in leadership positions. Committee meets by telephone once or twice a year in the spring to conduct business for the Election ballot and committee nominations.

2023 Committee Members

  • Chair: Sharon Plon, MD, PhD Baylor College of Medicine
  • Incoming chair: Dana Crawford, PhD, Case Western Reserve University
  • Secretary: Heather Mefford, MD/PhD, St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital
  • Past, Past President: Gail Jarvik, MD/PhD, University of Washington Medical Center
  • Leslie Biesecker, MD, NHGRI – serving in his personal capacity
  • Azeez Butali, DDS/DMD, University of Iowa
  • Carla Easter, PhD, Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
  • Hal Dietz, MD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Joris Veltman, PhD, Newcastle University
  • Lai Poh-San, PhD, National University, Singapore
  • Mark Seielstad, PhD, University of California, San Francisco


Contact ASHG

ASHG uses cookies to provide you with a secure and custom web experience. Privacy Policy