ASHG Excellence in Education Award

In January 2023, as part of its response to the Facing Our History – Building an Equitable Future initiative findings, ASHG suspended the use of individual names for all of its professional awards, pending review of any affiliation with eugenics or other harms. Until decisions are made about a naming policy and practice, ASHG’s professional awards have only descriptive titles. While that review occurs, this award will be referred to as the Excellence in Education Award. Formerly, it was the Arno Motulsky-Barton Childs Award for Excellence in Human Genetics Education.

The Excellence in Education Award recognizes outstanding contributions to human genetics education. Nominees must have made contributions that are recognized nationally or internationally as being of exceptional quality and great importance to human genetics education and should have long-standing involvement in genetics education, contributions in more than one area, and contributions of substantive influence on individuals and/or organizations. Nominees should show a commitment to diversity and inclusivity.

Examples of the types of contributions that might qualify a nominee include: producing a set of writings that has had a major influence on human genetics education, developing a curriculum or innovative teaching program that is widely emulated, writing a book that has been adopted by many universities, or developing an educational website. The awardee will receive a plaque and a monetary award of $10,000 at the Society’s Annual Meeting.

All nominees must be current ASHG members.

Past Awardees

Required Nomination Materials

  • a formal letter of nomination addressing why the candidate is qualified for this award (500 word maximum)
  • the nominee’s CV
  •  at least one (up to three) reference letter from those who are familiar with the nominee’s contributions to human genetics education (each 500 words maximum). One reference must be an ASHG member.

Judging Criteria

A lifelong commitment to teaching: 1) Prior awards specifically for excellence in teaching; 2) Development of disruptive approaches to teaching; 3) Demonstrable impact of their teaching

ASHG uses cookies to provide you with a secure and custom web experience. Privacy Policy